Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Yes, smaller-size coils can rule the day, and I just added my smallest-size coil yesterday.

February 05, 2019 08:37AM avatar
I was encouraged by LWSteve on a different Fisher Forum to check out the smaller and thinner 4" Concentric coil. I have a new 5" DD Fisher/Teknetics coil in my Accessory Coil Tote on a spare lower rod, and the 5" DD has worked well for me on Teknetics Omega's, G2's, Euro-Tek Pros, Fisher F19's and a few other models in the past. I have kept a 5" DD mounted on one of the Omega 8000's I acquired last fall.

For general purpose urban Coin & Jewelry Hunting and other applications where it isn't too trashy, the Fisher 7" Concentric coil is mounted as my main-use coil on a Fisher F44 and one on my other Omega 8000. Naturally I am very aware of the pros and cons there can be at times between a Concentric and Double-D coil's performance. I've been using Double-D search coils on some models since 1971 so their 'behavior' isn't anything new to me. As a rule, however, I have usually favored a Concentric coil over a DD, but some models do not have a good Concentric coil designed for them, and they work well because they were developed with and for a DD coil type.

Well, I wanted to get a 2nd F44 just to maintain a 2-Detector / 2-Coil outfit like I have with two Nokta CoRe's, two Nokta Relic's, and two Teknetics Omega 8000's. I figured I could leave the 5" DD on the second Omega 8K, and I have a new 5" DD I could have put on a second F44, but I ordered in two of the 4" Concentric coils along with a new F44. (By the way, since I'm not a fan of 'ugly-looking' search coils and don't really need a standard-to-larger size coil, I ordered my new F44 with the 7" Concentric instead of the 11" BiAxial or 11" 'tear-drop' shaped Concentric.thumbs up)