Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

My 'forrmer' to 'current' plan of attack for DEEP coins.

April 24, 2019 08:38PM avatar
First, I should define what I CONSIDER to be a 'DEEP' coin. Most coins are, and have been, located in the upper surface-to-4" range, and 4" would be an average typical depth between 3" and 5". Over 5" deep coin-size targets are getting into what I consider to be typical 'DEEP COIN' depth. Generally 6"-ish to an honest 8" deep target. Some can be found in the measured 8" to 10" range, but those are very rare compared with the number that are over 5" to 8" depths.

Kickindirt
So for my old park which finds wise I've dated back to 1870s. So here's my thoughts and some of you prob can relate to this. I've been hunting this park with DD coils for last 5 yrs or so with all different makes and models. Good finds have diminished down to nothing.
Yes, I can definitely relate to that. Quantities of coins and older-era coins have sure diminished over the years (decades really) and I'm talking about old-use parks that had activity back into the 1850's and before the site was a dedicated park. I've hunted some of the oldest parks in the Portland, Oregon, but my favorite older-use parks are in my home town in Utah.

I started hunting the Utah parks in '68 with a BFO with a 6" mono-coil, and progressed to a 6" Coplaner/Concentric, 6" and 8" round DD's, and my better results during the late '70s and '80s was with 7" and 8" Concentric coils. I did find some deeper coins, in areas where they were logically to be, but remember, those were still the 'early days' and there were impressive quantities of coins and most were in that typical surface to 4" depth range. As they continued to thin out then the opportunity came to search for the fewer number of remaining coins that were either missed due to being at odd angles, being masked by nearby objects, or in some cases just being a bit deeper than we could normally attain before.