Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

"I live for that rusty flat tin ..... and bring on the nails! "

October 18, 2017 08:47AM avatar
Brian, I have been singing that praise for over 34 years now since we first got decent Relic Hunting detectors in our hands (referring to favorite Tesoro's since the Inca in mid-'83). To be honest, during these past three decades there have been a few okay detectors for working those old rusty, nail infested ghost towns, homestead, logging and mining camps, pioneer and military encampment sites, etc.

Trust me, I have tried most and have owned many of them, but in 1/15 the Nokta FORS CoRe changed things up wonderfully. It was soon followed by the original Racer, and then the Racer 2, Relic and Impact all combine to provide serious, Avid Detectorists with some of the best working detectors and factory supplied search coils to tackle just about any challenge we might encounter.

Cal_Cobra
Thanks Monte, I'll be sure to post more often.
Please do. Your posts can be informative, interesting and educational for many followers. thumbs up

Cal_Cobra
You know I live for that rusty flat tin that infests about every western ghost town and stage site we detect, and bring on the nails!
The more the merrier. Okay, maybe at times a bit exhausting after a day-long search, but there are some positives to it, to be sure.

Cal_Cobra
That's why we do so well with the Makros and Noktas in these environments, but we have a site that is so infested with sagebrush, that we can (currently) only detect approximately 5-10% of it.

We have a solution at hand, nothing as high tech as a laser, but it requires a good amount of manual labor before each hunt. We tested it on our last jaunt there, and it allowed us to recover three coins (two seated quarters and one barber dime), that were previously inaccessible.